Wrong Turns

DAILY PROMPT:  When was the last time you got lost? Was it an enjoyable experience, or a stressful one? Tell us all about it.

My sister and I were headed to the post office to pick up a large package.  I get to drive her SUV.  I love it.  It’s like driving a truck and I tell her how high up I am and feel like I’m king of the road.  My car doesn’t make me feel this high.  The two flat tires on my car make it feel even lower.

We’re enjoying the ride, laughing about this and that, trying to catch up on what’s old and what’s new.  She points to where I’m to turn because I’m still talking and trying to concentrate on driving at the same time.  That’s a feat in itself.  I miss the turn.  We’re now lost.  There’s so much to catch up on that I don’t realize that I haven’t stopped talking but I’m confirming with a nod of my head that I understand we are lost.  But it’s okay, I’m driving my sister’s SUV you see.  They’re good vehicles.

She tells me to turn left after I pass the street we should have turned on.  I don’t want us to get lost again so I attempt a half u-turn just past the street sign and the light post.  I feel her tires scraping the sidewalk and pulling us with it.  I think of my two flat tires on my car and worry the SUV is going to feel a little low if the tires pop.  That would change things just a smidgen.  We make it.  Just barely. The turn is complete.

She’s shocked and I almost start laughing at the look on her face.  I try not to burst out laughing as I watch her face for any indication that I can actually burst.  I don’t know if she’s shocked because I actually managed to make the turn but she starts laughing at the look on my face.  Then I realize I’m trying not to laugh now.

The high pitched squeaky hissing noise seeping out from between my teeth and lips make her laugh harder.  Sort of like a snake fighting with an electric can opener.  I can’t take it anymore.  I pull over to the side but because it’s my first time driving an SUV we’re now halfway on the sidewalk and the road with the hazards on.  I burst out laughing because time doesn’t wait for a good laugh.  Especially when you have to use the bathroom and make a wrong turn in your sister’s SUV.

Leave a Reply

