Verbal Ticks

DAILY PROMPT:  Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

 See you soon.  K.

Huh?

I’ll be there in a minute.  K.

I dropped my banana split yesterday.  K.

Where are the rest of the letters? 

We use a lot of acronyms on a daily basis.  They are justified.  But why drop the rest of the letters for such a tiny word? 

When I first saw it, it was sent to me as a response to one of my text messages.  It was the complete message.  My first thought was they hit send before finishing the rest of the word or it was just short for Kate.  But the problem is, I don’t have a friend named Kate. 

So  this was a new trend that somehow did a fly by.  Went right over my head.  Turns out there was nothing wrong with my iPhone and I didn’t have to take it in for repairs. 

Apparently, the word in its entirety is “okay”.  So if you don’t have a friend named Kate, just nod your head like you knew it all along anytime you get a text message from K because you know what it’s about.   

Plus I learned there’s really no need to reply back to a letter of the alphabet. You really don’t have to. K?

Leave a Reply

