Unexpected Guests

Daily Prompt:  You walk into your home to find a couple you don’t know sitting in your living room, eating a slice of cake.  Tell us what happens next.

I start laughing and through tears of laughter say “seriously?”  I check my watch.  I check the address on the mail I just picked up.  I stop laughing.  “Get out, now please,” only because I’m extremely polite.  I am standing at the front door however with my cell phone on 911-dial-ready.

They get up, brush the crumbs all over my carpet, which I’m thinking they will mash into the carpet with their shoes, because I’m assuming the cake is still moist enough to cause a mushy mess when they start walking towards the exit.

They give me a hug and say “April Fools!  We are best friends with your neighbours!”  I see them across the street waving at me with smiles as big as orangutans, laughing like hyenas shouting, “we got you back!”

Oh yes, that’s right.  April Fools day last year was brutal.  I totally forgot about the group of friends I sent over there to sit in their backyard, drink lemonade then paint their back door in that aubergene colour.  I love my neighbours.  It took them a whole year to figure out how to get me back.  Can’t wait for Christmas.  I know exactly what I’m going to do.  The plan takes shape as I smile and wave back at them.

Leave a Reply

