You, Robot

DAILY PROMPT:  Congrats — you’ve been handed a robot whose sole job is to relieve you of one chore, job, or responsibility you particularly hate. What is it?

I absolutely hate vacuuming.

Just thinking of my hair getting caught under the sofa as I bend over to see the dust bunnies having a party underneath is enough to make me want to scream.  Apparently, I can scream louder than the vacuum cleaner when it’s running at full power.  And it doesn’t seem to matter which vacuum cleaner I use.  The hand held one to clean the car is as much of a pain as the large one I use to clean the house.

I imagine I hate the one with the long twisty hose the worst because it never fails to either try to strangle me or trip me as I move about the house scaring the dust.  Half the time, the dust ends up on the front of the vacuum just before the hole and doesn’t get sucked up.  So, I have to use my fingers and push the dust in.  Not to mention pulling the hair out of the brush and jamming it in the hole that should have sucked it up in the first place.  What’s the point of having a vacuum cleaner that doesn’t suck anything up even after checking the bag and filter during each use.  I find I’m even testing the suction on the front of my t-shirt, which works just fine because I have this nice circle of dirt design on my chest.  I can only conclude that my vacuum cleaner developed an allergic reaction to dirt.  But I think it’s just being picky when it comes to sucking up the dirt.  I’ve never heard of a vacuum cleaner that’s a picky eater so a robot to take that job over would be great.

Leave a Reply

